call me genius! [ 01.25.05, 9:14 a.m. ]

well, yesterday was truly interresting.
seven a.m. it was.
fell up my stairs.
while i was inside.
yes, i'm a winner.
went to work with some pinky pain. turns out i have a tendon out of place over there.
here's what the dr said:
patient states that she jammed her right hand as she fell yesterday (today) walking up some stairs. right 5th digit has been painful since with bruising and some swelling.
YAY! except that he forgot to put how i said i was a klutz (sp). to continue:
abrasions noted on dorsum of right 5th digit, with tenderness on 5th metacarpal area. clicking on flexion of right 5th digit noted at PIP.
that means, i have a tendon out of place and my joint, instead of smoothly working it's way back into it's little groovy home, is jumping in and out of it, i look like i'm double jointed. when he first saw me flex my pinky he goes, and i quote, "wow, that's weird." LOL the doctor is telling me that's weird. nice.
assessment: right 5th digit tenderness and swelling s/p fall-? tendon displacement vs fracture.
and that's where the note ends, folks.
but i got to take some x-rays and put an ice pack on it. he wants me to see an orthopedist. they're gonna do something painful to me where they like scoop my tendon out and pop it back into place. tendon scooping? yeah. keep it far away from me!
but he said that if i don't have it done my finger would be crooked. i told him that'd be hot and i wanted a crooked finger. he laughed. laughing ensued.
my hand feels much better today. it was wicked annoying yesterday. it hurt so much. i refused to take any pain meds tho, don't like doing that unless i really have to. right before i went to bed i had to. ouch.
there's still some pain in my wrist and the finger and half my wrist is still swollen, but a good ice pack should fix that.
that was my adventure.
that and trying to keep up with david this weekend. the man worked straight from 7:30am saturday to 9:30am sunday, then went back in at 1pm sunday and worked till around 5pm. then monday, had to go back in at 5am and didn't get out till 3ish. all that time he was shoveling and plowing the streets of charlestown, where we live. how awful is that! ok, so he's 22 and can afford to waste that much of his life? no. but i suppose he enjoyed it for the most part. even though i haven't seen him in three days. i'm going over there tonight to see him. poor guy. miss him i do.
and with my gimpy hand and his aching back, we'll be quite a pair. - Weller

last - next

navigate
current
archives
profile
links
rings
reviews
extras
email
guestbook
notes
host
design